top of page

What is slow travel and why I cannot travel otherwise


Almost without knowing it, I started my traveling life doing slow travel. I soon realized that this slow travel was an art. I couldn't handle the idea of ​​being too short in a place. Nor did he feel that hotels made sense, the common tourism industry. I decided to venture on my own. Spend as much time as possible in places. This was facilitated by the fact that I discovered that the best excuse to travel was to study. So I made exchanges, courses, workshops ... I try to have an additional "excuse" to stay longer. And that the quality of the trip is different. Because it is not about quantity, but about depth. That my passage through the place involves knowing and mixing.

I don't think I can travel any other way that isn't slow. Because in addition to enjoying each step and each place more, this philosophy allows a different relationship to be established with the spaces and with the people who inhabit it. That resources be respected and conserved. May culture, traditions, ways of seeing the world be exalted and celebrated. To eat, to dress, to celebrate, to cry, to walk.

By traveling in a sustainable, local, community, ethical way, making sure that our impact in the places is a positive one and of retribution and contribution (voluntary work is a great way to learn and relate) we ensure that our enjoyment does not result in exploitation, the abuse and suffering of human beings, animals or the environment. When we travel slowly we stop, admire the landscape, every step, every being and every thing counts. Anyway, I could not conceive of traveling otherwise.

bottom of page